Discoveries in the World of Judgments and Stories!

Yesterday, I committed to take note today of my judgments and stories. The day’s not over, but it’s time to write, so you’re getting a work in progress. I quickly recognized themes for my judgements. One of my favorite themes is about something that happened in the past where I don’t like  how things turned out. As soon as I arose this morning, I noticed I was thinking about someone whom I felt I had a big contribution to their life and they never appreciated that contribution. I wanted to call them to help them see how valuable I had been. As I sat with this judgment, I could feel a very elaborate story I’ve told myself that justified my judgment.

As soon as I was aware of this judgment, I sat with it until I felt all of its aspects. Soon it began to unravel.  I knew this judgment was connected to my inner sense that I’m not enough. Something I have worked with this many years. Simply knowing I’m enough, and nothing is missing, doesn’t necessarily wash away old beliefs and emotions. Those are resolved by the process I followed.

Another theme I noticed is worrying that in the future I will not have enough – enough money, food, time, sex, stuff I want. This worry is often subtle, yet not very far below the surface. When I look at my current situation, I’m clear I have all that I need.  Just like when I looking backward at some perceived slight, I know my emotional response originates in me. Yet, knowing this doesn’t keep me from experiencing emotional reactions to my thoughts, and the stories about why these fears are real are very convincing.

In the past, I would have spent time figuring out why I have these judgments and stories. Often now I recognize them as they arise. As I do, I have the opportunity to allow love to rise up and meet the judgments. When I began to playing with this, it sounded peculiar to let love rise up. I mean, how is this possible? Yet, that’s how it works.

At my core (yours too, for that matter), I am love. If I stop and allow myself to feel love, it will seem to rise up and fill my perceptions. All this requires is remembering I am filled with love (which also means acceptance). As I accept my thoughts (That doesn’t mean I act as if they are true. Rather,I see them for what they are), I accept myself. I stop the inner tension that comes from either denial of my thoughts and emotions or condemnation of myself because of them. This is the time when I can begin to experience true resolution, the only way it’s possible actually, by being present with unconditional love.

My exploration will continue through the balance of the day (actually it’s something I will do everyday). The more I observe myself without judgment, feel my emotions without letting them take control of my experiences and allow love to rise, the clearer everything becomes and the more peace I feel.

One of my friends, David, who often comments on the blog,  committed to follow this practice today. How about you? It could be the beginning of a new chapter of your life!

Author: Thomas White

Over the past thirty-five years, Thomas White has created and led private and public organizations that initiated breakthroughs in areas as diverse as computer software, publishing, printing, market research, leadership development and organizational change. The common ingredients in his success are simple. He looked beyond the limitations that others believed and found real solutions to needs that business leaders have. He attracted the best talent to translate these innovative solutions into practical products and services that were of high value to customers. He created cultures where people love what they do, work at their best and produce extraordinary results. In addition to his role as a business leader, Thomas has been a pioneer and inventor of technologies in the computer-networking field. He is a patent holder for innovations in business process and workflow technology. As part of his passion for educating others about the interface of human and computer systems, he was the co-author of “New Tools for New Times, The Workflow Paradigm”. He has also written articles for numerous publications. In 2001, he turned his attention from leading companies to supporting leadership teams in creating organizations of excellence. After many years of being a part of the machine of change, Thomas recognized that business is the most powerful force in the world. It has a major impact on public policy and governments everywhere. It is a key influence on how we use our resources and sets an example of the values that shape communities from local to global. He formed the consulting firm of Profoundly Simple to be a guide for exemplary leaders - leaders who wisely uses the power they are entrusted with to serve their constituencies first and themselves second; leaders who know that it is good business to treat people with respect, honor the environment and act with impeccable integrity – leaders who inspire greatness in those around them and by doing so create great organizations that are notable examples of success. Feeling the itch to get back into the game again, Thomas joined with two long time friends, to start the C-Suite Network. This network of business leaders offers an online network, events, services, and insights to its 500,000 member community. In addition, the C-Suite Network produces and distributes television and radio content to an audience of over 5M per month

Leave a Reply

