Heart of a Leader

Leadership Matters

Simplicity, Simplicity, Simplicity

I was listening to an episode of Public Radio International’s,  To the Best of our Knowledge, as I was driving today. The topic was Henry David Thoreau’s Walden. The host, Jim Fleming, read the following from the book, “Simplicity, simplicity, simplicity! I say let your affairs be as two or three, and not a hundred or a thousand… We are happy in proportion to the things we can do without.”

The little voice, that always seems to have opinions, said, “That’s nice, but that’ just not realistic”. I know that Thoreau is right, and I have great familiarity with the logic of the voice. I realized that the challenge, for me, is feeling that I have to make a leap to absolute simplicity in one jump. I know it’s a journey and the more I simplify, the more I learn about simplicity.

So, I invite you to join me, if only for one day, in taking one step towards simplicity. What I did, as I was writing this, was to consider something in my life that seemed very complicated. The first thing that came up was that I have so many unfinished manuscripts. I have written here that I have started many books. These incomplete works grab my attention from time to time. I know the distraction of having a life filled with many incompletions.

So, what I did was to put all of them, save one, away. I will only put my attention on that one until it is either complete or I choose to walk away from it. Tomorrow, I will ask myself again this question, “What in my life seems complicated?”  I will then look at the strongest answer I received with an eye for simplification.

I’m already feeling lighter. Let go of complexity. Let simplicity be your guide.

Thomas

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Simplicity, Simplicity, Simplicity

  1. Pingback: Simplicity: How I Sharpened My Mind | My Body My Self

Leave a Reply

