Heart of a Leader

Leadership Matters

What… Work on a Saturday?

It’s Saturday, and I’m writing. A month ago, when I put my head down and decided to write consistently in this Blog, the inner dialogue said something like, “Five days a week is enough of a jump for you. You haven’t been able to keep up a consistent rhythm of writing for years.” That made sense to me so, I committed to writing five days a week.

A few days ago, I was replaying this inner conversation and realized there was a flaw. I mean, do I breathe only five days a week or eat five days a week (more about eating next week)? Of course not! I do have a mindset about writing being work. It’s what I do when I’m not having fun. Hmm..I thought, “but I’m enjoying writing and it’s as much a part of who I am as anything else. “

That cracked the ice and more beliefs that are like this one have come up for review. For instance, I have the belief that I must spend less time with my family during the “work week” because, well, I’m working and work is a 9 to 5 (or longer) sort of thing”. What a trap that belief is.

I already have my own business and I can set whatever schedule I want. So I’m letting this old programming define my life. That seems ridiculous. I hear a lot of inner noise when I write this. “Don’t let your wife see this. She will want to change everything about what you do.”  (editor’s note: what makes you think that SW)Also vying for my attention is, “How can you take care of your financial commitments with this stupid idea?” There’s a lot more going on, but you get the picture.

Regardless of these distracting voices, I’m going to approach my days (whatever day it may be) with deliberateness. I will allow whatever feels right to be where I put my attention. I don’t know what will happen to the concerns voiced, but I’m going to give it a go and let you know.

Until later,

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

