Heart of a Leader

Leadership Matters

What do you do when you get lost?

It seems to happen every day. I have the feeling of being lost. Uncertainty creeps in, and I lose touch with my inner rudder. Sometimes, it shows up as confusion and at other times, I feel overwhelmed. I may feel physically tired or emotionally grumpy. My “tells” let me know that I’m teetering on the brink of going off in to the weeds.

From my work, I know many experience this. They are unaware, and only after being lost for a while, do they realize that something’s out of sync. Then their own inner programing kicks in and they either feel upset or paralyzed, or get into gear to get back into their center.

There is a simple way to get back in the game, so to speak. When I remember, then I follow this practice, and the wheels starting turning again and the inner humming of contentment returns.

“What is this simple practice?”, you ask.

  1. The first step is to recognize that something’s off. I mentioned my own signs. You know what yours are because you experience them often. Every hour, check in and ask, “How is my body?”. If the response is, “Everything’s great.” and that feels right, then all systems are go. If on the other hand, you either don’t feel any response to the question, or you feel that something’s off, it’s critical that you stop whatever you are doing and go to step 2.
  1. Now that you know something’s amiss, you can begin to listen to the inner voice. We all know this voice that tells us something’s wrong like “you’re not good enough” or “that person doesn’t like you” or “wow, did you screw up”.

I call this the voice of distraction. Listen to it, without allowing yourself to be carried away by its message. This requires your full attention. If you deny the voice, then it just waits for another opportunity to show up and usually much louder. Allow the voice to have its say, without reacting to what’s said (this is the tricky part – for we are programed to either agree with or resist the voice), then something truly amazing takes place.  Whatever was distracting you falls away. This may seem counter-intuitive, but it really works.

Now reconnect with what your intention for the day was. If that still feels like your right course, get back on track. Sometimes, you realize that it’s time to move on to something else. So do that.

Three simple steps and you can recover so much lost time and really lower your frustration. The key is to keep checking in with your body and then remember to follow the steps.

Let me know how this helps you.

Thomas

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

