An antidote for FEAR!

creation

You do not have to be good.
You do not have to walk on your knees
For a hundred miles through the desert, repenting.
You only have to let the soft animal of your body love what it loves.
………..
Whoever you are, no matter how lonely,
the world offers itself to your imagination,
calls to you like the wild geese, harsh and exciting —
over and over announcing your place
in the family of things.

This opening and closing of Mary Oliver’s poem Wild Geese awakened in me the music of the heart.

When I look over the blanket of fear that cloaks so many of us, I know that this fear isn’t real. It has been created in our minds without any consultation with the heart.

When I began writing this blog, I dreamed that it was a repository of the music of my heart, for my heart is the place where true guidance emerges. Guidance on living a passionate, fruitful life filled with service and abundance.

How can I say that the current fear is an illusion? Let’s say that I choose to join the millions of fearful Americans in their mood today. Would this fear be based upon what I am experiencing now, or what I am concerned I will experience in the future? The answer is that it is about the future.

If I were to simply look at the present moment and experience what I have, I would find no room for fear. I have a warm home, plenty of food, a warm family, I am doing what I love. Then what would I fear? I could fear that one day I may not have adequate money for my family’s needs. I could fear the loss of my home. I could fear harsh consequences for others in my family and community.

This fear is not real – it is not today’s reality. Putting my attention on it accomplishes two things. It changes my mood so that I don’t fully enjoy what I have now. It also can easily become a “self-fulfilling” prophecy. If I see a future filled with fearful experiences, it is very likely I will create those experiences.

Some may wonder if I am a person like Don Quixote, “tilting after windmills”. That hasn’t been my experience. I continuously focus myself on what is important right now. My guide is feeling what is true, what is so. This feeling is accessible when I remember to look with my heart.

What my heart reveals today is that great change is ahead. I can walk through this change in peacefulness. I know that I have all the resources I require as long as I remember to live in the present moment, not choosing to be distracted by the past or paralyzed with fear of the future.

Until later,

Thomas

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: Thomas White

Over the past thirty-five years, Thomas White has created and led private and public organizations that initiated breakthroughs in areas as diverse as computer software, publishing, printing, market research, leadership development and organizational change. The common ingredients in his success are simple. He looked beyond the limitations that others believed and found real solutions to needs that business leaders have. He attracted the best talent to translate these innovative solutions into practical products and services that were of high value to customers. He created cultures where people love what they do, work at their best and produce extraordinary results. In addition to his role as a business leader, Thomas has been a pioneer and inventor of technologies in the computer-networking field. He is a patent holder for innovations in business process and workflow technology. As part of his passion for educating others about the interface of human and computer systems, he was the co-author of “New Tools for New Times, The Workflow Paradigm”. He has also written articles for numerous publications. In 2001, he turned his attention from leading companies to supporting leadership teams in creating organizations of excellence. After many years of being a part of the machine of change, Thomas recognized that business is the most powerful force in the world. It has a major impact on public policy and governments everywhere. It is a key influence on how we use our resources and sets an example of the values that shape communities from local to global. He formed the consulting firm of Profoundly Simple to be a guide for exemplary leaders - leaders who wisely uses the power they are entrusted with to serve their constituencies first and themselves second; leaders who know that it is good business to treat people with respect, honor the environment and act with impeccable integrity – leaders who inspire greatness in those around them and by doing so create great organizations that are notable examples of success. Feeling the itch to get back into the game again, Thomas joined with two long time friends, to start the C-Suite Network. This network of business leaders offers an online network, events, services, and insights to its 500,000 member community. In addition, the C-Suite Network produces and distributes television and radio content to an audience of over 5M per month

6 thoughts on “An antidote for FEAR!”

  1. I agree with what you’re saying here up until the last paragraph. How do you know that you have all the resources you require for the great change ahead? That’s where I get stuck and I’d be interested in how you bring yourself back to peace with that.

    1. This is something I remember and forget and remember.

      The focus is on what I have NOW. For if I focus on what I may need TOMORROW, I have moved out of the present moment and I both loose my appreciation of having everything I need now and I allow myself to let the fear of tomorrow be the guiding light of my today.

      I know that saying the above may sound nice, however, does it really work. I am personally walking through the same thing as you. I see all the fear and these worries locally and nationally and globally. I don’t know what will happen tomorrow. I can only remain alert and ready to act when it feels right.

      Each day, I have the following practice. I create quietness through first listening to a CD that focuses me on the present (If you would like a copy of this, email me a note and I will send it to you). I then “feel” and connect with everything in my surroundings. After that, I am ready to feel what I am called to do this day. I let it “speak” to me. I write down what I have felt. At the end of each day, I reflect on what has unfolded. I do this to see if I have become afraid during the day and diminished any experience.

      May you find peace is this most interesting time.

      Thomas

  2. Thank you so much for your reply & your offer to send the CD. I do have a daily practise of quieting and connecting with the light. The challenge for me is to remain quiet and connected and present. I’m amazed at how often and in how many different ways fear surfaces. It can be in relation to the world, or my work (which is uncertain, being a writer), or it can be as simple as fear that my children won’t learn to spell or do math.

    1. You are in the same boat as most who have practices whether they are meditation or yoga or whatever we use to still the mind and body. Each day I am faced with how do I take the quiet, peace and clarity of my practice into everything beyond the practice.

      Perhaps we could consider that there is never any time when I am not in my practice. For practice is a way to move back to center. Practice is a guide to the light. Practice is for when I forget.

      The key for me is to first raise my continuous awareness. Raising my attention on the observer, we have all experienced, so that I can realize when I am off center. In that awareness, a practice can be engaged from as simple as breathing to movement to anything that works.

      My wife and I are reaching out to practitioners who want to bring the moments of stillness and awareness into every breath. We can feel the rumbling from others like you and offer ourselves in service.

      Thomas

  3. Hi Tom,

    I enjoyed reading An Antidote for fear. My 20 year career was recently impacted by a major corporate downsizing. I am now looking for employment in such difficult economic times that I am feeling more fearful than I ever have before.

    Thank you for this uplifting and good reminder-I came across it at a most suitable time.

    Lisa

  4. thomas – i have so enjoyed this glimpse into your website – i appreciated your reference to living in the moment for that is where our feeling life abides and is that place where we are all the same … i look forward to visiting your site again and experiencing more of our sameness- maureen

Leave a Reply

