Heart of a Leader

Leadership Matters

What do you do when you don’t like “what is”?

dreamstime_4290804

I was talking with Catherine Austin Fitts, one of the most astute observers of the financial markets I know. Catherine was helping me understand some of the criminal activities that have created the current world economic crisis. (If you would like to listen to our conversation, go to Business Matters next Friday for a download.)

I could feel my blood boiling as she recounted some of the horrific behaviors that have gone on over the past 10 or so years. When I asked Catherine what we can do to fix this very broken system, she started talking about what we can do individually. I asked if she wasn’t angry. She pointed out that the first step in the process of making the changes we need is to not get caught up in what is unfair, or to be obsessed with any anger about the situation. What we are called to do is focus on what actions we can take TODAY for change.

As I have reflected on this, I know what she says is true, and sometimes I just forget. Catherine reminded me of the power of accepting “what is”. What it means is that I make a clear and non-judgmental assessment of the situation I find myself in. It doesn’t mean that I don’t initially allow myself to feel anger or whatever it is that I feel. That’s important. What it means is that I deliberately choose to move past those feelings so that I can see what is really going on beyond my feelings.

From this place of clarity, the best actions for me are evident. If on the other hand, I focus my attention on being angry or letting fear take over, then the view is clouded and as often as not, I will act from this cloudy perspective. I don’t have to tell you what the outcome of that is.

Now is the time for courage and deliberateness. Join me in choosing right action over emotional obsession. Our future is at stake.

Until later,

Thomas

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

