Heart of a Leader

Leadership Matters

What’s true?

“To thine own self be true, and it must follow, as the night the day, thou canst not then be false to any man.” William Shakespeare in Hamlet

OK, today is a day when I get up on a soap box. I really try not to do this because I know that if I do, I then have to also go sort out what I am doing that is like what I am railing about. Sometimes this self-examination is very uncomfortable and I am not going to let my fear of the discomfort slow me down.

Images-3I am staying at a Marriott hotel in the Rochester area. This hotel is called the Marriott – Rochester Airport. The only thing is that the airport is 6.6 miles from this hotel. I kinda expect to find an airport hotel if not in spitting distance to the airport at least you won’t break a sweat driving there.

What really is annoying me though is the pervasive use of exaggeration in the marketing of goods and services. At one level, I guess I have been in the pack with most everyone in saying, “Well I guess that is just the way that it is.” You know, I am finding that this position is not how I want my children to find the world.

I look around and there is so many examples of exaggeration in how things are spoken about – the politician speaking about their record (or promises); the corporation speaking about its new products; a school system speaking about its academic performance. The list goes on and on and on.

What is behind this need to be more than I am? As I examine this in myself, I can feel an almost involuntary need to spruce up the image that others have of me. I can’t even remember why I want to do that – it’s so automatic. There must have been some point where I found that this was a good idea.

integrityJust because I have been doing this for most of my life isn’t a good reason to continue. What am I to do? I guess the first thing to do is to watch how I talk and write about myself. I will become sort of a word police and make sure that what I say doesn’t have any fudging in it. That’s going to take some doing as I’m sure I must do it often.

Once I get going on myself, I can take some of this energy I have about the truth and funnel it into helping others stop needing to be more than they are… Now that’s going to be an interesting experiment…. Stay tuned..

Until later.

Thomas

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , ,

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

