Writer’s block anyone?

BigquestionWoman 7For those of you who read this Blog you may have wondered if I had stopped writing. Perhaps you thought that I was either busy or not interested in writing at this time. Actually, I was experiencing my own version of “writer’s block” My wife smiled

when I told her about this and said, “Well I guess you really are a writer”.

As I sat for the past four weeks many fragments of thoughts and Ideas came forth. I was sure each time that they would surely turn into something that I could share. Just as quickly as they surfaced, they faded away. After a few lines, I could feel nothing else to write.

I decided to take this time and understand what was blocking the creative process in me. I have heard a lot about this phenomena. Yet, I wasn’t really clear from what I had read about what was really going on. I think this creative block can happen to anyone. Whether you write, paint, build things or create music, you have experience a time when nothing seems to come forth. Its like being very thirsty and not finding water anywhere. If only you knew where to look.

j0178844 2As I witnessed this block, I noticed several things. The first was an impatience. Normally, when I get a thought for writing, I am able to sit down, let the idea flow out and voila… creation has happened. When I first noticed what I am calling writer’s block, this process wasn’t working. Rather than just sit, relax and let the message take whatever time it needed, I wanted it to work easily and quickly. After all, I am a busy person. As you might imagine that approach didn’t produce any result.

This was phase one of the writer’s block for me. Now to phase 2. After a few days of this experience, I found that my frustration created a change in my patterns. My normal practice was to rise early and write for an hour or so each morning. All of a sudden I had a million reasons why that wasn’t possible. I was traveling. I overslept. I have an important client commitment I have to take care of now. My wife needs my help with the children. The list goes on and on.

So now, I was not frustrated so much as I was just accepting that I “couldn’t” write because I didn’t have time. Of course, I knew this was bogus and I still let myself be tranquilized by the stories I was telling myself.

dreamstimeweb_267361 4Now comes the third phase. Frustration reappears. This time it was from a different direction. I was frustrated because I was not able to provide useful insights to the Blog readers. This was interesting. I began to ask the question,” why am I writing?” I realized that an answer that I didn’t want to admit was that I was writing for others rather than because I love writing. I was having the “audience” be the motivation rather than self-fulfillment.

As I allowed myself to really understand this motivation, I remember why I love writing. I love writing because it allows me to be honest and is a canvas for sharing my gifts. Whether it is for myself only, one other person or many. It doesn’t matter

jump for joyThis brought me to phase 4 of writer’s block – surrender. I let go of my needs to write on schedule, or for anyone else or for any reason other than the joy of writing. Guess what? I am now writing again, with joy……

I look forward to sharing with you in the coming days whatever comes my way.

Until later,

Thomas

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: Thomas White

Over the past thirty-five years, Thomas White has created and led private and public organizations that initiated breakthroughs in areas as diverse as computer software, publishing, printing, market research, leadership development and organizational change. The common ingredients in his success are simple. He looked beyond the limitations that others believed and found real solutions to needs that business leaders have. He attracted the best talent to translate these innovative solutions into practical products and services that were of high value to customers. He created cultures where people love what they do, work at their best and produce extraordinary results. In addition to his role as a business leader, Thomas has been a pioneer and inventor of technologies in the computer-networking field. He is a patent holder for innovations in business process and workflow technology. As part of his passion for educating others about the interface of human and computer systems, he was the co-author of “New Tools for New Times, The Workflow Paradigm”. He has also written articles for numerous publications. In 2001, he turned his attention from leading companies to supporting leadership teams in creating organizations of excellence. After many years of being a part of the machine of change, Thomas recognized that business is the most powerful force in the world. It has a major impact on public policy and governments everywhere. It is a key influence on how we use our resources and sets an example of the values that shape communities from local to global. He formed the consulting firm of Profoundly Simple to be a guide for exemplary leaders - leaders who wisely uses the power they are entrusted with to serve their constituencies first and themselves second; leaders who know that it is good business to treat people with respect, honor the environment and act with impeccable integrity – leaders who inspire greatness in those around them and by doing so create great organizations that are notable examples of success. Feeling the itch to get back into the game again, Thomas joined with two long time friends, to start the C-Suite Network. This network of business leaders offers an online network, events, services, and insights to its 500,000 member community. In addition, the C-Suite Network produces and distributes television and radio content to an audience of over 5M per month

1 thought on “Writer’s block anyone?”

Leave a Reply

