Heart of a Leader

Leadership Matters

Slow down, you move to fast

Slow down, you move too fast
You got to make the morning last

San Francisco Bay
I sit looking out to the San Francisco Bay from my hotel room. My view of the bay looks across a busy freeway. People quickly driving to wherever they are going. Each of them driving at over 55 miles per hour. This constant motion contrasted with the placid bay reminds me of the past few days.


I have been working with the leaders of a consumer products company. They were taking time to be away from their normal routine to look at their current state and see a clear path to the future. As we spent time together, I was reminded again of how seldom we just stop and take a look at where we are. Mostly, we just keep moving. Worrying about what needs to be done, and the whole time not realizing where we really are.

I am grateful for this experience. For today, I am stopping my normal routine of focusing on where I am going (in this case I would be rushing to the airport for my flight home). Rather, I am going to drive to a park. I am going to walk for a while to just let the beauty of the park wash over me. I will allow this time to teach me what I am forgetting.

I wish you a moment of quiet in your day.

Until later,

Thomas

Technorati Tags: , , , , , ,

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Slow down, you move to fast

  1. I had a moment like that last night – in response to a small movie that Gretchen Rubin, over at http://www.happiness-project.com, put together.

    It made me stop and think about how quickly life passes, in particular with respect to our children growing. We’re so busy just getting things done that we’re often in danger of missing out on our children’s lives.

    i wrote about it here: http://www.iwasthinking.ca/2008/07/29/the-years-are-short/

    Check out the movie (linked to it in my post) – it’s worth the minute!

Leave a Reply

